Slingerland re-elected as Ontario Goat President

2015 OG Board of Directors ready to tackle the issues ahead

At a recent Ontario Goat (OG) Board of Directors meeting, elections were held for the Board’s executive positions.  Anton Slingerland, a dairy goat farmer from Norwich was re-elected for a third term as President, while Eldon Bowman of Gorrie and Dirk Boogerd of Embro were both elected as Vice Presidents.

Michele Bowering joins the board as the newest Director.  Michele and her husband Dave operate a dairy goat farm in Ilderton.  “I am looking forward to being on the Board of Ontario Goat and I will do my best to represent the farms that have put their faith in us as your representatives in the goat industry,” said Michele Bowering.  “It is a very exciting time for the Ontario goat industry with endless opportunities ahead,” she added.

Ian Mayberry retires from the OG Board after serving voluntarily with the organization since 2009.  “I would like to thank Ian for his contributions to the Ontario goat industry and to Ontario Goat as an organization” stated OG President Anton Slingerland.  He added that Ian’s presence at the board table will be missed “because he was instrumental in helping to develop the structure and mandate of the organization with the vision that it was for the betterment of all involved in the goat industry.”

“This is an important year for Ontario Goat as our industry continues to grow. We have a number of important issues on the table to deal with including the priorities set out by our fellow producers as well as new and emerging issues that require our attention” suggested Slingerland.

“I am looking forward to the upcoming year and serving the needs of the Ontario goat industry with a united and clear voice for all us so that we can harness the many opportunities before us” said Slingerland.  He added that OG, as an organization representing all goat farmers in the province, has come a long way since its inception and he feels that OG is “effectively addressing the many needs of the growing sector while at the same time providing value to each farmer”.

The 2015 OG Board of Directors include:  Anton Slingerland (President), Eldon Bowman (Vice-President), Dirk Boogerd (Vice-President), Cinthia Hope, Ed Donkers, Greg Haskett, Jason Lyons, Michele Bowering and Terry McNeely.

The OG Board of Directors is comprised of nine goat producers from across Ontario, elected to a three-year term at the Annual General Meeting by voting producer members. OG Directors work together to promote the best interests of the entire Ontario goat industry, including the meat, milk and fibre sectors.

Please click here for a PDF of this news release.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.